Pumpkin Pancakes

September 18, 2011 at 9:45 pm | Posted in Deliciousness | Leave a comment
Tags:

One of the best things about fall, maybe even THE best thing about fall, is the abundance of pumpkin-everything.  I get abnormally excited over the appearance of Little Debbie’s Pumpkin Delights, and I may or may not already be on my second box of the season.  Given my obsession with love of pancakes, it’s only normal that I look forward to pumpkin pancakes this time every year. But I somehow always manage to miss them at IHOP, and so when Serena at Big Apple Nosh announced that this month’s NoshGirl Party was weekend breakfast, I knew that now was the time to try them at home.

Best enjoyed with coffee with toffee nut creamer. Yum!

I started with this recipe from food.com. Yes, I started with Bisquick.  I hate to say it, but Bisquick has given me consistent results when other recipes have failed me. It’s been a good standby to have when I don’t want to have to guess whether my breakfast is going to turn out.  But I promise, once this box is gone, I’m going to make my own baking mix to keep on hand for my Sunday morning pancake fix.

Here’s my adaptation of the recipe:

  • 2 1/3 cups Bisquick
  • 1 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger

Combine all ingredients in a bowl and let stand 10 minutes.  Heat a large skillet over medium heat and ladle a scant 1/4 cup batter per pancake.  Cook until edges are dry, flip and cook 1-2 minutes more.  Keep warm on an ovenproof plate or baking sheet in a 200 degree oven.  Serve with butter and your favorite syrup. Enjoy!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

