Weekend Snapshots

January 17, 2012 at 9:55 pm | Posted in Family, Home, Life | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

We had a fantastic long weekend.  W had four days off, so we were very spoiled by having him home.  I think LC is quickly turning into a daddy’s girl.  She has such fun playing with him, and she just chatters away when she’s around him.  She’s also started crawling from the living room into his office when he’s in there working.

Friday I made pancakes for breakfast and Miss LC got to eat her very own pancake.  She LOVED it! I can’t wait to make them again to watch her gobble it up.

baby eats pancakes

Yummy yummy yummy!

We’ve had nice warm weather for January, so we took advantage of the sun and went to check out a park near our house.  This park was pretty great–it has a big dog park and some really nice play structures that LC will enjoy when she’s older, but the feature I was most excited about were the swings! (Is it just me or is it getting harder to find playgrounds with swings?). We took Duncan for a frolic in the dog park and then headed over to give LC her first push in the swing. Seeing her smile and hearing her giggle was so good for my heart that we went back on Sunday!

baby_swinging

Yesterday I was most excited about tackling our bedroom. I’ve been working on deep cleaning and purging in preparation for our upcoming move this spring.  It feels so much more peaceful and calming to walk into a clean bedroom.

In other exciting (hah!) news, I have cooked dinner every single night this month.  I was already cooking most nights, but I have really been doing better about meal planning and shopping, and I hope that this will help us save some money to meet some of our financial goals more quickly.  Most of my recipes this month have come from Real Simple and Cooking Light magazines and I may post a rundowns of some of our favorites toward the end of the month.  Some nights I really don’t feel like cooking, but it has definitely helped me to have a plan so that I’m not scrambling to make a meal out of thin air at 6 pm.

So, here’s to a 4-day work week! I’m ready for the weekend NOW.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

