I need a crystal ball.

June 9, 2010 at 6:25 pm | Posted in Life, Things I think | Leave a comment
Tags:

Yesterday I had a job interview. Ever since I got back from Korea, I’ve had a hard time finding a steady full-time job. Much of that has to do with my profession–teaching, the subject I teach (not a core subject), the timing of our moves (twice in the middle of the school year!), and the complications with licensing between states. I’m open to doing something else besides teaching, but since that’s pretty much all I’ve done since graduating, I’ve found it hard to break into a new field without experience, especially in this economy.

So, this interview was a pretty big deal. It’s not a teaching job, but it’s in the education field, and I feel that I would truly be a good fit for the position. But of course, I was not the only candidate for the position. In fact, it’s my understanding that they were interviewing all day for the position. So I fully understand that if I do not get the job, it could just very well mean that there was someone with more experience (or maybe someone who was a little less nervous than me!).

It won’t be the end of the world if I don’t get the job, although I have to admit that I’m fantasizing about how much money we could save if we went back to two incomes. But there’s also the reality that another job like this is not likely to come along again, and the chances of finding a teaching position in my field for the coming school year are not looking good.

If I don’t get the job, it will make my decision to go back to school for a Master’s a little bit easier. I know in the long run getting a Master’s will give me a lot more flexibility, especially because there is relatively high demand for the field I’m interested in. And I love school, so I would definitely be excited about going back. But it’s three years of school, which is tricky when you move as much as we do. And let’s face it–I’m not crazy about the thought of adding to my student loan bill.

I think this is one of those times where God is trying to teach me to rely on Him–because at this point I have no idea what the future looks like, and that makes me very uncomfortable.

Have you gone through something similar? Feel free to share!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

