My dad

June 21, 2010 at 12:08 pm | Posted in Family | Leave a comment

This is late, but I wanted to post it anyway.

Happy Father’s Day to my dad from 1800 miles away.

My dad is so many things: He’s a natural Mr. Fix-It.  He cooks.  He’s crafty (I could never have pulled off my wedding DIY projects without him). He’s musically talented. A natural tennis player.  He’s fiercely loyal to his family.  He works incredibly hard.

I haven’t always gotten along with my dad. We certainly had our rough patches, especially through those tumultuous teenage years.  I was the kid with the smart mouth, and I know I wasn’t always easy to be around.

But now that I’m quite grown up and have put some space between then and now, I can appreciate so much of what my dad has taught me.

Always check your work twice. As the queen of careless errors by the age of 5, I remember my father sitting me down at the little kid’s table in the kitchen and making me print out on tablet paper “I will check my work twice.”  Of course I still had to learn the hard way, but I try to be more mindful of my work , and I ALWAYS preach this to my students.

Always try something new at least once. I wouldn’t say we ate much exotic food growing up, but whenever the opportunity arose, Dad always urged us to try something new.  He loves to go to hole-in-the wall places, which frustrated me as a teen when Applebee’s was still a novelty that I adored.  Looking back, I can see how much he has influenced the choices I make when I eat out or travel.  Thanks to my dad, I look for places off the beaten path.

Put family first. Despite working very hard at his job and completing both a masters degree and a doctorate while working full time, Dad has always done his best to leave work at home and to make his family a priority.  I’m thankful for the time he made to spend with us, when, I know if I worked as hard as he does, I would want a lot more time to myself.

I’m so grateful for the ways in which my dad has positively influenced and shaped who I am.  I know I grumbled a lot, but when the time comes for us to have kids, I know I will take many cues from my dad and raise my kids the way I was raised.

Thanks, Dad, for everything.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

