Cinnamon Oat Pancakes

August 19, 2011 at 12:05 pm | Posted in Deliciousness | Leave a comment

Pancakes are probably most definitely my favorite food.  I love them plain, smothered in butter and syrup, reheated with a smear of butter and a spoonful of sugar and folded over like a pancake-taco.  Favorite variations include blueberry (with berries in the cakes, none of that gloppy compote on top), chocolate chip, pumpkin, and gingerbread.

On the weekends, I usually make blueberry or chocolate chip, but last week I decided to make breakfast for dinner and wanted something a little different.  I came across this recipe from Martha Stewart, which was a definite winner.  The oatmeal in the batter makes them seem healthier than your average pancake, although I haven’t done a nutritional analysis to compare.  I stayed pretty close to the original recipe as I usually do when making something for the first time, with the exception of adding in a capful of vanilla. I’m unsure of whether I’d use any whole wheat flour the next time I make them (and there WILL be a next time); I worry that they might lose their light quality and become a little too leaden.  We shall see!

This sweet-tooth queen liked that the pancakes weren’t super-sweet, and they were delicious with butter (Brummel and Brown in our case) and honest-to-goodness maple syrup, but ALSO: loved them as a snack the next day heated in the toaster, spread with a bit of butter and jam. Love!!

My tips for making pancakes that turn out well:

  • I know a lot of people like cast iron, but I’ve come to favor my 12-inch All-Clad skillet.
  • Start with a hot pan, but not too hot.  I usually heat mine on med-med high and turn it down after the first batch or two.
  • Don’t overcrowd! In my 12-inch skillet, I can do three at a time comfortably.  Have patience–a batch goes fairly quickly.
  • A scant 1/4 cup of batter makes a good sized pancake in my book.  You don’t want the pancakes to be so large that they cook unevenly.
  • A flexible turner is key…I usually use this one by OXO.
  • I keep my pancakes warm in a 200-degree oven as I go.

Here’s how they turned out! (I’ll spare you the process shots, I’m sure you know how to measure and mix a batter).

Can't wait to make these again!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

