Catch-up

April 17, 2012 at 10:22 pm | Posted in Life, Things I think | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

We’re moving (to another state! soon!), so lately life has involved working on a seemingly endless checklist of Things That Must Get Done, and sadly blogging has not been on that list.  I’ve wanted to share some things, though, so I will have to make this quick.

  • I am obsessed with this song and it’s on repeat all the time.  I like that the lyrics are thought-provoking and meaningful and not about something violent (see: Pumped Up Kicks, We Are Young).  Also loving the Sting-esque vocals.
  • It was the 11th anniversary of W’s 21st birthday on Sunday.   We celebrated on Friday by having some friends over for dinner.  At W’s request,  I made fried chicken, baked beans, and buttermilk biscuits.  Our friends brought a delicious Caesar salad.  For dessert, I made a Chocolate-Crunched Caramel Tart from Baking with Dorie.  I followed the recipes for the  fried chicken and baked beans from Hugh Acheson’s A New Turn in the South.  The fried chicken was AMAZING.  W told me that the next time we go to Mississippi to visit his grandmother, I can show her how to make fried chicken.  I think that’s the biggest compliment he’s ever given me 🙂
  • LC is walking walking walking.  She looks like a little zombie walking with her arms out for balance.  Even though it’s a lot more work chasing her, I’m really looking forward to playing outside with her this summer (perk of moving: we’re going to have a real yard with grass!).
  • LC’s eczema is out of control.  On Saturday I took her out to lunch with me and on the way home she scratched up her leg so much that she was covered in blood.  She did the same thing to her arm yesterday when she was supposed to be napping.  She’s been dealing with this since she was at least 2-3 months old, and it just seems like we’ve never been able to get a good handle on it.  I have tried just about every cream on the market.  It’s really frustrating not knowing the cause or whether it will just go away on its own.  Today the pediatrician finally suggested we have her tested for some common allergies.  I’m really hoping that they’re environmental and will clear up when we move.  If you have any useful advice, I’d love to hear it.  No one in either of our immediate families has any kind of allergies (other than pollen) so this is totally new territory for us.

I’d like to write more, but that’s  all I have time for. I just wasted spent a lot of time on YouTube watching all of Gotye’s videos. *Sigh* I’m in love. Sorry, hubs!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

